History of Chiefs

Earliest Days

The beginning of law enforcement protection for West Fargo began on February 15, 1937 when Andrew Walburg became the first constable. Walburg worked part time and was later replaced by Cliff Berlin who served as a part time constable.

The first full time Chief of Police was Lloyd "Smokey" Stensrud who was appointed on May 1, 1957. Stensrud was joined by Les Lindblad in 1959.

1966 Until 1994

When Stensrud was elected Sheriff of Cass County in 1966, Lester Linblad was then appointed Chief of Police for West Fargo. Lindblad served as Chief until 1973.

Assistant Chief Ken Hansen took over the position of Chief of Police in 1975 and served until 1994 when he resigned because of health reasons. Captain Dave Bruckner took over as Acting Chief of Police.

On January 9, 1995, former Cass County Investigator Arland H. Rasmussen was appointed as Chief of Police and served until his retirement on June 20, 2014.

2014 Until Present

Mike Reitan was appointed as Chief of Police on June 21, 2014 and served until January 2017. He was in that position after serving as a Patrol Officer, Sergeant, Captain, and Assistant Chief.

Assistant Chief Jerry Boyer served as interim Chief of Police until Heith Janke was appointed as Chief of Police in July 2017.